January 31, 2011

Categories: Daffodil Awards, Daffodil Types

Download PDF

Hi everyone,
A colleague of mine asked me a question about awards. He has found that awards listed on Daffseek do not mach awards listed on Cultivarzoek. How do they relate to each other? Should he list in his catalog a awards from both places? Where could he find more information about daffodil awards?
Best regards from Latvia,
Guntis Grants

4 responses to “Awards”

  1. Phyllis Hess says:

    If he would go to he will find the description for the Wister and Pannill Awards given by the American Daffodil Society. The Wister for garden worthy daffodils; and the Pannill for American bred show daffodils. We encourage our American growers to designate these daffodils in their catalogs as they are proven either in the garden or on the show bench. It would be wonderful if friend would do the same. The symbols for these awards are also available on the web site.
    Hope this helps.
    Thank you very much for asking.
    Phyllis Hess
    Chair of the Marketing/Public Relations Committee

  2. Mary Lou Gripshover, Ohio Mary Lou Gripshover says:

    Hi Guntis,
    I see that Cultivarzoek is the site of the Royal General Bulbgrowers Association (Holland), while DaffSeek is a site sponsored by the American Daffodil Society.  DaffSeek tries to keep current on awards given by various daffodil organizations around the world.  If, on DaffSeek, you have a flower with an award, such as ‘Rapture’, you’ll notice it has won several awards.  If you roll your cursor over the award name, like AGM, it will tell you a little about what the award was given for, and who gave it.
    You ask whether your friend should list all the awards.  I suppose that depends a little bit on his market.  If his market is mostly people who want beautiful garden flowers, then he might want to list the AGM and the Wister Award, as these are both given for garden merit.  If his customers are looking primarily for exhibition flowers, then perhaps he should list the FCC (which is mostly given for exhibition flowers) and the Pannill Award, which is for American-bred exhibition flowers.  Of course, he could choose to list them all so that his customers know as much as possible about the daffodils they want.
    Best wishes,
    Mary Lou

  3. James Akers, England James Akers says:

    ​Dear Guntis


    You asked where your friend could find more information about daffodil awards.

    At the International Horticultural Conference of 1930 it was recommended that "in any given country there should be only one award-giving body for any category of plant, in order to avoid confusion." So in the case of Daffodils you could find awards given in all the countries where there are active Daffodil Societies or commercial interests.

    In the United Kingdom until this recommendation both the RHS and the Midland Daffodil Society gave awards to Daffodils. Afterwards a Joint Committee of these two bodies was formed to give awards, but this was subsequently disbanded and currently only the RHS give awards in the UK.

    I hope this helps.

    James Akers

  4. Guntis Grants says:

    Many thanks to everyone who helped me and my friend to clear this up. He is going to list awards from ADS, RHS and from the Netherlands.  He is also planing  to include all explanations of the awards, but that would be a job for the next years catalog.
    Best regards,
    Guntis Grants