Clay Higgins, New Jersey

(2) Two Questions

July 6, 2013

Categories: American Daffodil Society, General

Download PDF

I have the new June 2013 The Daffodil Journal in front of me. Great joy by the way.
However, On page 302 there are two items that I find – shall we say not very clear.

1. At the bottom of the page 302 2nd paragraph from the bottom it starts with ADS Show Awards. What is the difference in this language then the language that was used last year when I got my 2013 Show Schedule approve when I had to change the intermediate Award for Five, Three, or best set of three intermediate blooms in the multivase collection classes to clarify that these awards were coming from the intermediate section? I can’t see any difference. I spent a lot of time with Chriss before I got the schedule approved while making it read correctly. Please explain.

2.The last paragraph on that page 302 it says the Board also approved the motion: Effective3 with the ADS shows in 2014. . . in essence it says that the Historic best bloom, best historic three stems, and best historic collection of 5 can now compete for the Gold, White, and purple ribbons. Okay, I’m for that. But it went on to state: As candidates for these ADS awards, blooms from the Historic Section are to be judged using the ADS Point Scale for Judging Cultivars.

My question: Does that mean the Historics are all judged now my the ADS Point Scale for Judging Cultivars? Or does it mean Historics will be judged by the ADS Scale for judging cultivars only when they are competing for the ADS awards? If you ask me, judging Historics against modern day daffodils is not a fair comparison. More like judging Podunk, Arkansas where I grew up against NYC. 🙂 At least in Podunk we could say over yonder, in yonder, or out yonder and everyone knew what we were talking about. 🙂


2 responses to “(2) Two Questions”

  1. Kirby Fong, California Kirby Fong, California says:

    1.  The first draft of the minutes of the fall board meeting did not state the resolution as most of us remembered it. The difficulty was in the wording of the classes from which the best set of three intermediates could be selected. Obviously, all three-stem entries in the Intermediates Section should be considered, but looking through all the standard three-stem entries would be too much work.  The intent at the fall board meeting and of the final wording of the award description is that the only classes outside of the Intermediates Section that must be searched are those that require two or more sets of three.  At the national show, these would be the Tuggle and Mains collections. The reason for the more obscure final wording is that at least one local show claimed to have a class for two sets of three and felt that if either of the cultivars was intermediate, it should be eligible for the Best Set of 3 Intermediates award.  That’s why the final wording did not simply add the Tuggle and Mains collections as additional places to look for three intermediates but instead refers to multivase collection classes.

    2. Flowers in the Historic Section are to be judged using the historic point scale.  The resolution enabling entries to be eligible for the Gold, White, and Purple Ribbons means that candidates will be rejudged according the cultivar point scale when competing for those awards.  This is analogous to miniature species being considered for the Mini Gold Ribbon.  The species is judged according to the species point scale but is rejudged according to the cultivar point scale when being considered for the Mini Gold Ribbon. Don’t ask me why miniature exhibits in the Historic Section aren’t eligible for the Mini Gold, Mini White, and Lavender Ribbons.

  2. Clay Higgins, New Jersey Clay Higgins, North Carolina says:

    Thanks Kirby.  That makes it easier to understand.